top of page

My First Photography Blog

I first started out in photography by accident. I wasn't the person with my phone out snapping pics at every occasion, in fact i rarely took any photos. My wife handled the snapshots of our life. The very first camera I ever purchased was a Nikon D3500 and I bought it because I thought my wife could use it for her product business. So I purchased the camera and because I know how my wife is with technology, I thought I would learn how to use said camera so i could teach her how to use it.

I started off by going to a local metro park and just walked around snapping shots of anything and everything I could find. I took a photo of a tree with its reflection in a pond. This would be the catalyst for my photography adventure. You can find this image in my Portfolio, it isn't the greatest photo but it means more to me then any other photo I have taken. It is the image that showed me just how beautiful this life is.

Fast forward six months and I made every mistake that every top ten list tells you about. I bought a better camera, because better camera better photos. I posted all over Facebook and people loved my photos. So I bought better lenses. People started contacting me about Family Portraits and Senior photo's. Obviously your start a business, RIGHT!?!

I started this business and figured I would stay pretty busy, but that didn't happen. I don't understand, everyone loved my photos on Facebook so why aren't they beating down my door to hire me? Business started slow for me, a family portrait session this weekend. A senior photo session two weeks later. Not quite what I had envisioned when I started, but what I realized is, what if I had been booked solid all summer? Would I be able to handle that workload, Or would i be rushing and not be able to give each customer the attention and quality they deserve.

In closing I have realized there is no end to this adventure so why rush it. I will continue to learn, and fail. What i crave is the journey, so hit me up when you're ready I look forward to working with you

Rob


7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page